Recent, Unrelated Observations

October 12, 2009 at 12:52 am (Stuff that's on my mind)

I dye my own hair.  My hairdresser knows this, has often admired the colour, and on more than one occasion, has recommended my hair colour to another customer.  Therefore, during a recent visit for a trim, it was rather disconcerting to look in the mirror and see her standing behind me combing out my newly dyed hair, while trying unsuccessfully to stifle her laughter.  What’s that?  I missed a spot?  Yeah, okay, well there might have been some wine involved the last time I coloured it.

On the topic of hairdressers, if her assistant favours heavy use of backcombing and aerosol hairspray to style hair, it just might be time to head back to school for a little refresher course.

Running into friends you haven’t seen since high school and seeing how much they’ve aged, particularly when you’re convinced you haven’t, proves one thing… they really ARE good friends!

If there are boxes in the basement that still haven’t been opened since moving in 17 years ago, it’s a pretty safe bet they can just be tossed, still unopened.

Windex can clean pretty much anything.

Never underestimate the value of a well-placed comma.  It could have turned this – “I think it’s awesome to tell the truth” into this – “I think it’s awesome, to tell the truth”, and prevented the remainder of that chat from going to a place where neither understood what the other was talking about.

Why do people say “not to mention…” and then go ahead and mention it?  If it truly “goes without saying”, don’t say it!  And if you hear “to make a long story short…”, you may as well settle in and get comfy.  It’s a pretty safe bet you won’t be getting the Coles Notes version of the tale.

I was talking with my sister-in-law today, and it’s unanimous… losing your job causes an immediate 10-pound weight gain.

Leave a Reply

