The sound of music

June 2, 2009 at 12:00 pm (Stuff that's on my mind)

I just booked my ticket to see Ernie Haase and Signature Sound in concert in Portland, Maine next month.  But before I did that, I asked Malcolm if he wanted to go with me. 

He had attended a Gaither Homecoming concert in Saint John with me and our moms a couple years ago and seemed to enjoy it, despite having to watch the concert on the giant screens because our seats were so far back in the upper bowl, we had to be careful we didn’t bang our heads on the metal roof support beams when we stood up.  And that’s only a slight exaggeration.

However, when given the opportunity to attend the EHSS concert, he declined, offering quite an assortment of excuses reasons:

  • he had already attended one concert, and they’re all the same;
  • he’s already seen it all because he sits beside me, waiting impatiently while I watch The Gaither Gospel Hour every week on TV;
  • he doesn’t want to spend the time / money / effort to travel to attend a concert he’s already seen

As mentioned in an earlier post, I listen to a lot of Gospel music at home, sing along in harmony, and I use my headphones if Malcolm’s home too.  However, the full extent of how one lone harmony part would sound to someone else, especially without the benefit of the melody or background music, was never made more obvious to me than during the following exchange:

Malcolm:  “No, I don’t want to go to this concert, but I’m glad I went to that first one, though.”

Me:  “Oh really?  Why’s that?”

Malcolm:  “Because now I know what those songs are supposed to sound like!”

Leave a Reply

